Collection Haul #3 – A little surprise

Howdy! Guess what I got? MORE STUFF!

Going forward, these haul posts will be different, especially these next few. Because of one of the things I bought, I had to take a break from collecting in order to build up my funds again. As of the writing of this, I’ve built them back up to where I can collect again. Thing is: the last one was so large that it was probably a bit much to read through. I plan to have 3-4 images in each post, so that the length is more reasonable. That being said, if you prefer longer ones, let me know. For the time being though, they will be shorter. But enough of this tom-johnson-foolery of a pre-haul opening.

For the first batch, I ventured into GameStop, something I don’t do very often. I was running some errands that day and wanted to stop by to see if I could find anything cool, which I seem to have done. I think the Mario thing is meant to be a Christmas ornament, but I’m using it as a door handle decoration. It’s pretty cool. The thing next to it is a group of packs of the new Dragon Ball Z trading card game by Panini. It’s more or less the same one from when DBZ was in it’s hay-day, by a different company. I still have my old cards and I even used to play it, although very rarely. I don’t actually play the game now; I just wanted the cards to use as bookmarks.

This batch comes from a trip to a local independent video game store called RetroVidjos. It’s on the way to my university, so it’s very easy for me to get to. The place was small, but they had a lot of stuff for good prices. The staff was also friendly and helpful. I’ve probably bought stuff from them at Anime Weekend Atlanta, but this was my first time going into their store. The top left, Gex 64, isn’t technically on my main list, but I planned to get both the PS1 and N64 version, since I have memories playing both, although I like the third one better. Same with the game to the right, Zelda II: The Adventure of Link, a game I originally had on the Wii’s virtual console. I plan to get physical copies of the digital retro games I have (including PSN and Xbox Live) so that I won’t have to pay some upgrade fee to keep the games on newer consoles. Nintendo is the only one to do that so far, but Sony’s approach of not giving you an option isn’t any better. I’d comment on Microsoft’s approach, but any digital retro games I got on Xbox Live, I already had (the only one I didn’t have will be shown next time.) It will also be nice to have physical copies of the games. My experience with Zelda II is small, but I enjoy the RPG-like elements. The bottom game, Star Wars Episode 1: Jedi Power Battle, is one I played on PS1 originally, but I wanted to get the Dreamcast version because it has extra characters. I’m not sure if it’s because of the Dreamcast’s power, but the game feels clunkier than I remember. Maybe the game was always clunky? It probably was, in all honesty.

And now, the big one. Your eyes do not deceive you, I indeed own a Nintendo Switch. I happened to go to my local Target in the evening and they had one in stock. I started seeing it as I walked towards the electronics section and I took it as a sign. It was a now or never, er, much much later situation. Along with the system, I bought the Pro Controller and The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. The controller works well and is comfortable to use. The docking thing for the Joy-Cons to make it into a semi-regular controller is okay as well, but it’s a bit awkward to hold, so I primarily use the Pro Controller. Using the Switch in handheld mode is okay, but it feels a bit bulkier than I initially thought it would and I feel like the Joy-Cons could snap off at any moment. Despite this, it does feel sturdy enough to hold in place properly. As for Zelda… It honestly might be my favorite, coming from a casual player of the series. Growing up, I loved exploring the land in Ocarina of Time more than playing through the story, and because the game was a rental for me, I’d get to explore almost every time, due to the battery saves. I feel like Breath of the Wild has given me almost exactly what I wanted in a Zelda game: an open world exploration adventure game. The only thing I don’t like is how often the weapons break and how there is no way to repair them, besides what I’ve heard about the Master Sword and Hyrulian Shield. Other than that, I’ve been pleased. I’ve also been watched the Game Grumps play it, so I know about what will happen later, though I’m still early in the game. I probably do a video at some point on my channel, though it will be after I’ve played more.

And that’s a wrap! Thanks for reading! I think making these posts shorter will help me write my content and get it out quicker, as well as less of a pillar to read. Like I said above, I already have more stuff lined up, but that will come later on. The next post will be something different and then another collection haul after.

See ya next time!!

Leave a Reply

